A SECRET KEPT – Tatiana de Rosnay

A SECRET KEPT

by: Tatiana de Rosnay
Read by: Simon Vance
Produced by: Macmillan Audio – Sept. 2010
Approx. 9 hrs (unabridged)

When we first meet siblings Antoine and Melanie Rey, they are traveling back to their homes in Paris after a weekend away to celebrate Melanie’s 40th birthday. While discussing what very little they remember about their mother, whose untimely death has haunted the pair, Melanie is about to reveal a memory when suddenly she veers off the road only to awake in a hospital narrowly escaping death.

During Melanie’s hospital stay Antoine begins a period of reflection. Finding himself recently divorced, a father to two teens and a preteen, failed relationships, Antoine seems lost with where he finds himself in life. A series of life changing, and in some cases tragic, events unfold that begin to affect Antoine deeply and the reader becomes witness to his personal change.

A Secret Kept is a story filled with emotion, hurt, loss, and ultimately – growth and acceptance. De Rosnay’s writing is rich in detail and thoughtful. Narrator Simon Vance has a unique ability to make this story incredibly touching and human to the listener. His performance is lyric and well paced, complimenting an already engaging text. De Rosnay’s writing coupled with Vance’s performance has an effect on the listener that is truly thought-provoking and moving. A Secret Kept is a true compliment to the audiobook format.

For more information on A Secret Kept, or to hear an audio excerpt, please visit Macmillon Audio at: http://us.macmillan.com/Book.aspx?isbn=9781427210951

This entry was posted in Audiobooks, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A SECRET KEPT – Tatiana de Rosnay

  1. Jodi says:

    Excellent review. I have her other novel Sarah’s Key but I haven’t read it yet.

    • Jason G. says:

      Hi Jodi and thanks so much for those kind words!

      This is the first book I’ve read by de Rosnay and I quite liked it. I wont shy away from her other works.

  2. Aths says:

    Nice review! I’m torn between whether I want to read this one first or Sarah’s Key. The latter had been on my wishlist for ages and I still haven’t picked it up. One of my books clubs is reading A Secret Kept next month and I’d love to read it.

    • Jason G. says:

      Hi Aths, and thanks for the comment!

      I haven’t read SARAH’S KEY yet so I can’t really comment on that title.
      I will say that I was moved by this work, and really enjoyed how the author took on some interesting subject matter from a male point of view.

      If you do read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.
      ~J

Leave a Reply

